A Modest Mitzvah

Today at sundown we will mark the beginning of the Jewish new year with Rosh Hashanah, literally “head of the year”.  This brings an opportunity to start over fresh with a clean slate, and rather like one might make a New Year’s resolution, I have decided to take on what I perceive to be a bit of a challenge.  I would like to begin practicing aspects of tzniut, or modesty, namely with what I wear.  There are many different elements to tzniut in Judaism, such as women driving cars or working before marriage (I do both), so I cannot claim to be entirely modest.  Nonetheless, it is a mitzvah, or commandment for the Jewish women to follow the rules for dress.  Interestingly enough, mitzvah does not just mean ‘commandment’, it also means ‘good deed’.  While one might think a commandment to be oppressive, and this one especially, it truly is not.  I am reading this book about tzniut, and in it the author explains that by covering up, women are allowing men to focus on what is truly important, rather than ogling whatever exposed bodies present themselves.  Now, this idea sounds incredibly sexist, and–it is.  But it is also undeniably the way things are.  Of course, not every man is guilty of noticing a woman’s body before her personality, but we must admit to ourselves that the number those who do is significant.  I highly recommend that anyone who sees this as a repressing, sexist, or even offensive practice first read this book before making any such judgement (I promise, it is a small book!).  An excerpt from the book Outside/Inside by Gila Manolson:
“Males, it has been observed, have trouble focusing on spiritual matters when around less than modestly clad females.  Given the impracticality of asking them to do blinders, the rationale goes, Judaism instead tells women to be good sports and cover up.”
Now, to explain the guidelines.  Traditionally, a Jewish woman’s clothing is to cover (at a minimum) her collar bone, elbows, and knees (even when sitting).  Of course this is in addition to all the usual and obvious body parts.  The clothing itself should comprise of a skirt and blouse, or a dress.  Skin-tight clothing, as well as see-through clothing is prohibited, and in more strict communities bright colors and clothes with words on them are also banned.  Married women are instructed to cover their hair with either a hat, a wig, or a scarf.
Personally, I have a few concerns about doing this, mainly from a practicality standpoint.  Unfortunately, I will have to make some exceptions.  I have a couple of on-campus jobs, one of which recently banned the wearing of skirts.  Unless I decide to make this a full-time commitment (lasting more than one year), I do not feel right protesting the change just yet.  For the days that I work, I will wear pants only while clocked in.  Another big concern is that while the weather may be winding into chillier days now, come next spring and summer, this is going to be challenging!  I look forward to the opportunity to share the experiences of modest women who live in warmer climates.  My final reservation–how can I go to the gym?!  Or go skating?  Swimming?  Apparently I have a lot of research to do!
To see the outfits, check out my fashion blog!  (Of course, only the ones from today on will have my modesty guarantee)

About Ari Elisheva

Musician, artist, engineer, part-time philosopher and philanthropist -- I enjoy heart-to-hearts, discussing and reflecting on the world for hours and hours, making any and all forms of art and music, experiencing new and amazing things, meeting individual and intriguing people, learning about tradition and culture, being proven wrong, and befriending everyone I meet. Basically, trying to be one heck of a well-calibrated girl ;D
This entry was posted in Judaism. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment